Definitely Maybe

Definitely Maybe is the debut album by the English band Oasis, released in 1994. It was an immediate commercial and critical success in the UK, having followed on the heels of singles “Supersonic”, “Shakermaker” and particularly the popular “Live Forever”.
Definitely Maybe went straight to number one in the UK Album charts on initial release. It was the fastest selling debut album of all time in the UK when released. Definitely Maybe marked the beginning of Oasis’ success in America, selling over 1 million copies there, although only reaching #58 on the Billboard 200. The album went on to sell over 7.5 million copies worldwide.
In 1997 Definitely Maybe was named the 14th greatest album of all time in a ‘Music of the Millennium’ poll conducted by HMV, Channel 4, The Guardian and Classic FM. In 2005 Channel 4’s ‘100 Greatest Albums’ countdown placed the album at number 6. In 2006 NME placed the album third in a list of the greatest British albums ever, behind The Stone Roses and The Queen Is Dead. In a recent British poll, run by NME and the book of British Hit Singles and Albums, Definitely Maybe was voted the best album of all time with The Beatles’ Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band finishing second and Revolver third. Q magazine readers placed it at five on their greatest albums of all time list in 2006 and in that same year NME hailed it as the greatest album of all time. It is frequently referred to as the greatest debut album of all time.

:: Info ::

Released: 30th August 1994
Highest Chart Position: Number 1 in the UK
Recorded at: Sawmills Studios (Cornwall), The Pink Museum (Liverpool), Out of the Blue (Manchester), Monnow Valley (Monmouth), Loco Studios (Caerleon), Eden Studios (Chiswick).
Songwriters: Noel Gallagher.
Produced By: Owen Morris and Noel Gallagher except track “Slide Away” produced by Dave Batchelor.
Photography by: Michael Spencer jones

:: Oasis Are ::

Liam Gallagher-Vocals
Noel Gallagher-Lead Guitars & Backing Vocals
Paul ‘Bonehead’ Arthurs-Rhythm Guitar
Paul ‘Guigsy’ McGuigan-Bass Guitar
Tony McCarrol-Drums